Trends

Big Data for Big Impact

On the occasion of World Telecommunication and Information Society Day, the National Computer Board organised a workshop focusing on Big Data, hosted by the Mauritian ICT Ministry. About 50 people working in the IT field came to learn about Big Data and expand their professional network.

 

 

In addition to the Minister of ICT, Mr. Yogida Sawminden, four major speakers were present on the day, they were:

  • Andrew Quixley, sales lead for Watson, IBM’s Artificial Intelligence (AI) platform for the Middle East and Africa.
  • Amrit Nawoor, Cloud Technology Manager for Oracle (SADC countries).
  • Amit Juggurnath, Presales Senior Technology Consultant covering the Eastern Region and SADC.
  • Ajmal Dookhan, director and project manager of software at Business Objectifs.

 

 

Big Data, or massive volumes of data

With the explosion in the number of mobile devices and digital services, the volume of data stored by information systems is growing exponentially. Every day we generate no less than 2.5 trillion bytes of data. So much so that 90% of the world’s data was created in the last two years alone. This creates huge databases that can no longer be stored by traditional IT. This is where big data came in, it’s about new infrastructures to manage these huge volumes of data.

“Information is the fuel of the 21st century and analytics is the combustion engine” Peter Sondergaard, Gartner Senior Vice President

This data comes from everywhere: from sensors used to collect weather information, from posts on social media sites, from digital images and videos posted online, from transactional records of online purchases, or from GPS signals from mobile phones.

 

4 key characteristics to qualify as a Big Data platform

@IBM

Big Data covers four dimensions (4V rule): Volume, Variety, Velocity and Veracity.

  • Volume: the amount of data to be processed must be significant. This data can be counted in terabytes or even petabytes.
  • Variety : Big Data comes from a variety of sources and in the form of structured or unstructured data.
  • Velocity : a certain level of velocity and reactivity must be achieved in terms of data processing. There are many time-sensitive processes that require almost instantaneous information processing.

“53% of execs say critical information is delivered too late,” said Amrit Nawoor, Cloud Technology Manager for Oracle.

  • Veracity : It is important to have reliable data. This is a major challenge for Big Data, and one that is made all the more difficult when the variety and number of data sources increase.

 

Growing demand for Big Data

Confronted very early on with these problems of mass data, the web giants such as Yahoo, Google and Facebook were pioneers in the field. However, for a few years now, Big Data has started to be used in other areas:

  • Banks use it to spot fraud in real time,
  • Telecoms to better exploit their customers’ data,
  • The industrial sector uses it for predictive maintenance of equipment,
  • In the health sector: for medical diagnostic assistance,
  • In transport to optimize the flow of goods, etc.

From now on, with the help of analytical tools and the
modeling
data, companies and administrations can perform trend or predictive analysis, draw up profiles, anticipate risks and monitor phenomena in real time. Companies selling Big Data solutions are tapping into a burgeoning market, estimated to be worth tens of billions of dollars.

And yet, despite the growing demand for Big Data analytics, the workshop speakers all lamented the shortage of data scientists in the industry. This is, according to them, the major challenge of Big Data in our region.

 

 

Possible applications of Big Data in the region

Andrew Quixley concluded his presentation by talking to the audience about possible applications for Big Data. The result was :

  • Chatboxes for customer service to provide 24/7 response. This would allow for automation in banks, for example.
  • The diagnosis of diabetes. The Mauritian population is particularly affected by this disease, today it is possible to detect the presence or absence of the disease via an image of the patient’s retina.
  • An effective solution to preserve the coral reef and marine life. Illegal fishing is a major economic and environmental challenge for the country. Big data could well be the solution. Using the data, authorities can monitor fishing activity on the coast. Thus, they are informed in real time of the number of boats, their location and their origin.

 

Andrew Quixley

The workshop concluded with a quick introduction to the Bluemix platform by all participants. They were asked to create a chatbot taking reservations for a restaurant.

Mauritius has a lot to gain from Big Data. The country could position itself as a talent pool, which would reduce the brain drain and increase private sector investment. However, to achieve this, the government has a critical role to play and must invest significantly in scientific training.

To Top

Tendances

Big Data for Big Impact

À l’occasion de la journée mondiale de la société des télécommunications et de l’information, le National Computer Board a organisé un atelier de travail centré sur le Big Data, organisé sous l’égide du ministère des TIC mauricien. Une cinquantaine de personnes travaillant dans le domaine de l’IT avait fait le déplacement pour se familiariser avec le Big Data et élargir leur réseau professionnel.

 

 

En plus du ministre des TIC, M. Yogida Sawminden, quatre orateurs majeurs étaient présents ce jour là, il s’agissait de :

  • Andrew Quixley, sales lead de Watson, la plate-forme Artificial Intelligence (AI) d’IBM Moyen-Orient et Afrique.
  • Amrit Nawoor, Cloud Technology Manager pour Oracle (pays SADC).
  • Amit Juggurnath, Consultant Technologique Senior de Presales couvrant la région de l’Est et SADC.
  • Ajmal Dookhan, directeur et project manager de logiciels chez Business Objectifs.

 

 

Big Data, ou volumes massifs de données

Avec l’explosion du nombre de terminaux mobiles et des services digitaux, les volumes de données stockées par les systèmes d’information s’accroissent de manière exponentielle. Chaque jour, nous générons pas moins de 2,5 trillions d’octets de données. À tel point que 90 % des données dans le monde ont été créées au cours des deux dernières années seulement. Cela crée alors des bases de données géantes qu’il n’est plus possible de stocker par l’informatique traditionnel. C’est là que le big data (ou méga données en français) est apparu, il s’agit de nouvelles infrastructures destinées à gérer ces immenses volumes de données.

« L’information est le carburant du 21e siècle et l’analyse est le moteur à combustion » Peter Sondergaard, vice-président senior Gartner

Ces données proviennent de partout : de capteurs utilisés pour collecter les informations climatiques, de messages sur les sites de médias sociaux, d’images numériques et de vidéos publiées en ligne, d’enregistrements transactionnels d’achats en ligne ou encore de signaux GPS de téléphones mobiles.

 

4 caractéristiques clés pour être qualifiée de plateforme Big Data

@IBM

Le Big Data couvre quatre dimensions (règle des 4V) : Volume, Variété, Vélocité et Véracité.

  • Volume : le nombre de données à traiter doit être important. Ces données peuvent se compter en téraoctet, voire en pétaoctets.
  • Variété : le Big Data se présente à travers une variété de sources et sous la forme de données structurées ou non structurées.
  • Vélocité : un certain niveau de vélocité et de réactivité doivent être atteints en terme de traitement des données. Il y a de nombreux processus chrono-sensibles demandant un traitement de l’information quasiment instantané.

« 53 % des exécutants disent que les informations critiques sont délivrées trop tard » a déclaré Amrit Nawoor, Cloud Technology Manager pour Oracle.

  • Véracité : il est important d’avoir des données fiables. Il s’agit d’un défi majeur du Big Data, d’autant plus difficile à relever quand la variété et le nombre de sources des données augmentent.

 

Une demande croissante pour le Big Data

Confronté très tôt à ces problèmes de masses de données, les géants du web tels Yahoo, Google et Facebook ont été pionés dans le domaine. Toutefois, depuis quelques années déjà, le Big Data commence à être utilisé dans d’autres domaines :

  • Les banques l’utilisent pour repérer des fraudes en temps réel,
  • Les telecoms pour mieux exploiter les données de leurs clients,
  • Le domaine de l’industrie s’en sert pour la maintenance prédictive des équipements,
  • Dans le secteur de la santé : pour l’aide au diagnostic médical,
  • Dans les transports pour optimiser les flux de marchandises, etc.

Dorénavant, à l’aide d’outils analytiques et de la modélisation de données, les entreprises et administrations peuvent faire de l’analyse tendancielle ou prédictive, dresser des profils, anticiper des risques et suivre des phénomènes en temps réel. Les entreprises commercialisant des solutions Big Data profitent d’un marché florissant, estimé à plusieurs dizaines de milliards de dollars.

Et pourtant, malgré la demande croissante pour l’analytique Big Data, les speakers de l’atelier ont tous déploré la pénurie de data scientists dans le secteur. Il s’agit selon eux, du défi majeur que présente le Big Data dans notre région.

 

 

Applications possibles du Big Data dans la région

Andrew Quixley a conclu sa présentation en évoquant avec l’audience des possibilités d’application pour le Big Data. En sont ressorti :

  • Des chatbox pour le customer service afin de fournir une réponse 24/7. Cela permettrait notamment l’automatisation dans les banques.
  • Le diagnostique du diabète. La population mauricienne est particulièrement affectée par cette maladie, aujourd’hui, il est désormais possible de détecter la présence ou non de la maladie via une image de la rétine du patient.
  • Une solution efficace pour préserver la barrière de corail et la faune marine. La pêche illégale touche de plein fouet la petite île, c’est un défi économique et environnemental majeur pour le pays. Le big data pourrait bien être la solution. À l’aide des données, les autorités peuvent surveiller l’activité de pêche sur les côtes. Ainsi, ils sont avertis en temps réel du nombre de bateaux, de leur localisation et de leur provenance.

 

Andrew Quixley

L’atelier s’est conclut sur une prise en main rapide de la plateforme Bluemix par tous les participants. Ces derniers ont été invités à créer un chatbot prenant des réservations pour un restaurant.

L’île Maurice a beaucoup à bénéficier du Big Data. Le pays pourrait se placer comme un pool de talents, ce qui diminuerait la fuite des cerveaux et augmenterait le nombre d’investissements du secteur privé. Cependant, pour y arriver le gouvernement a un rôle critique à jouer et doit investir considérablement dans des formations scientifiques.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top