Startups

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017: Building for Africa

“If you want to go fast, go alone, but if you want to go far, then you have to go together. This African proverb perfectly sums up the goal set by Microsoft with the NexTech Africa conference. This new flagship event for the technology sector in Africa will be held on February 2-3, 2017 in Nairobi, Kenya.

 

 

The aim is to reflect together on issues such as the design of technology that could help African inventors, the establishment of a data culture within companies, the global relevance of African innovations. By doing so, it will allow technology and business leaders, Microsoft engineers, local developers and entrepreneurs to discuss opportunities to collaborate on the emergence of locally relevant technology.

 

“The 2017 edition of the NexTech Africa conference will have the theme ‘Building for Africa’. African entrepreneurs aim to solve the many problems facing businesses and market challenges. Developers have a key role in creating solutions tailored to African realities, ranging from healthcare to fintechs.

 

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017

We strongly believe that new technologies facilitate access to essential services and accelerate productivity, using unique business models. Our goal with this conference is to connect the various players in the industry so that we can provide innovators with the right tools and infrastructure to fully engage in the development of technology solutions,” says Kunle Awosika, Country Manager of Microsoft Kenya.

 

Some of the speakers in this 2017 edition…

  • Joseph Mucheru, Cabinet Secretary in Kenya’s Ministry of ICT
  • Ranjith Cherickel, CEO of co
  • Regina Honu, CEO of Soronko Solutions
  • Andreas Fruhen, CIO of M-KOPA Solar.

Representatives from Microsoft will also be speaking, including:

  • Toni Townes-Whitley, Corporate Vice President of Public Sector at Microsoft Corp,
  • K Rengarajan, Corporate Vice President of AI & Research,
  • Hoop Somuah, Technical Advisor to the CEO of Microsoft,
  • Kunle Awosika, Country Manager of Microsoft in Kenya.

 

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017

For the complete list of speakers, click here.

For those who wish to attend this flagship event, click here. For those who can’t make the trip, follow the conference on the event website, or on Ch9.ms. NexTech Africa will also be relayed on Twitter, with the hashtag #NXTA.

A tailor-made program

The two-day program includes conferences, working sessions and discussion forums on the Cloud, Big Data, the Internet of Things, digital conversion and technology in emerging markets. In addition, attendees will have the opportunity to speak one-on-one with Microsoft engineers.

“Through initiatives such as 4Afrika, Microsoft contributes concretely to the development of new technologies in Africa,” explains Amrote Abdella, Regional Director of Microsoft 4Afrika.

 

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017

 

“These initiatives not only allow us to see how mobile and cloud technology is accelerating growth in Africa, but also to see the full extent of our designers’ involvement in global technology advancement. NexTech Africa is an opportunity to accelerate the use of products and services designed to meet African realities. It is also an opportunity to showcase world-class, African-designed solutions that are ready to be marketed internationally.

 

 

 

To Top

Startups

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017 : Building for Africa

Image: Microsoft

« Si tu veux aller vite, vas-y seul, mais si tu veux aller loin, alors il faut y aller ensemble ». Ce proverbe africain résume parfaitement le but fixé par Microsoft avec la conférence NexTech Africa. Ce nouvel événement phare du secteur de la technologie en Afrique se tiendra les 2 et 3 février 2017 à Nairobi, au Kenya.

 

 

Le but est de réfléchir ensemble sur des questions telles que la conception d’une technologie qui pourrait aider les inventeurs africains, la mise en place d’une culture des données au sein des entreprises, la pertinence à échelle mondiale des innovations africaines. En procédant ainsi, cela permettra aux leaders de la technologie et du monde des affaires, aux ingénieurs de Microsoft, aux développeurs locaux et aux entrepreneurs, de discuter des opportunités de collaboration pour l’émergence d’une technologie adaptée au contexte local.

 

« La conférence NexTech Africa édition 2017 aura pour thème ‘Building for Africa’. Les entrepreneurs africains ont pour objectif de résoudre les nombreux problèmes auxquels les entreprises sont confrontées, et les défis du marché. Les développeurs ont un rôle clé dans la création de solutions adaptées aux réalités africaines, allant du secteur de la santé aux fintechs.

 

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017

Nous croyons fermement que les nouvelles technologies facilitent l’accès aux services essentiels et accélèrent la productivité, cela, en utilisant des modèles économiques uniques. Notre but, à travers cette conférence, est de mettre en contact les différents acteurs du secteur, afin de pouvoir offrir aux innovateurs les outils et les infrastructures appropriés pour qu’ils puissent s’adonner pleinement au développement de solutions technologiques », explique Kunle Awosika, Country Manager de Microsoft Kenya.

 

Quelques conférenciers de cette édition 2017…

  • Joseph Mucheru, Secrétaire de Cabinet au ministère kenyan de l’ICT
  • Ranjith Cherickel, CEO de co
  • Regina Honu, CEO de Soronko Solutions
  • Andreas Fruhen, CIO de M-KOPA Solar.

Des représentants de Microsoft prendront également la parole, notamment :

  • Toni Townes-Whitley, Vice-présidente Corporate du secteur public chez Microsoft Corp,
  • K Rengarajan, Vice-président Corporate de AI & Recherche,
  • Hoop Somuah, Conseiller technique du CEO de Microsoft,
  • Kunle Awosika, Country Manager de Microsoft au Kenya.

 

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017

Pour la liste compléte de conférenciers, cliquez ici.

Pour ceux qui souhaitent assister à cet événement phare, cliquez ici. Les personnes qui ne pourront faire le déplacement, suivez la conférence en vous connectant sur le site de l’événement, ou sur Ch9.ms. NexTech Africa sera également relayé sur Twitter, avec le hashtag #NXTA.

Un programme sur-mesure

Au programme de ces deux journées : conférences, sessions de travail et forums de discussions sur le Cloud, Big Data, l’Internet des objets, la conversion numérique et la technologie dans les marchés émergents. De plus, les participants auront l’opportunité de s’entretenir en tête-à-tête avec des ingénieurs Microsoft.

« À travers les initiatives telles que 4Afrika, Microsoft contribue concrètement au développement des nouvelles technologies en Afrique », explique Amrote Abdella, Directrice régionale de Microsoft 4Afrika.

 

NEXTECH AFRICA 2017

 

« Ces démarches nous permettent non seulement de voir comment la technologie mobile et le cloud sont en train d’accélérer la croissance en Afrique, mais aussi de prendre la pleine mesure de l’implication de nos concepteurs dans l’avancement technologique globale. NexTech Africa est l’occasion d’accélérer l’usage des produits et services conçus pour répondre aux réalités africaines. C’est aussi l’opportunité de mettre sous le feu des projecteurs des solutions de classe mondiale, conçues en Afrique, et qui sont prêtes à être commercialisées à l’international. »

 

 

 

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top